Offerings

Pranams!
Dear Gurudev,
Please accept my humble dandabat pranams! Jai Srila Bhakti Promoda Puri Goswami  Maharaja and the entire Guru-varga!
On this most auspicious day of your divine appearance I am compelled to give you the utmost reverence. This reverence is normally reserved for my own personal inner consideration, but today I take this opportunity to let the whole world share in the sweet nectar that are your glories. With this mood I shall attempt to express my appreciation for you, even though I feel thoroughly unfit to do so.

Therefore in all humility will I begin by begging Sri Nityananda Prabhu to empower me in this endeavor, otherwise I fear my offering will remain incoherent and it’s feel and message will be lost.
Sri Krishna is present in the hearts of his pure devotees, and to my amazement Sri Krishna must be present in your heart as I see Him ever present in your words and deeds.
When I use the term amazement it’s because I remain completely in awed of your transcendental qualities. I see there is not a moment when you’re not engaged in the service of the Lord. In your first visit to Australia you exhibited your complete disregard for worldly distractions. Not in the least were you captivated by the sights and sounds Melbourne had to offer, but instead you were deeply absorbed in your service to Sri Sri Guru Gauranga. This struck me with wonder!
You similarly amaze me by your equal disposition to everyone. You are truly the friend of everybody. You once told me that no one is a friend or an enemy, and that by maya’s arrangement it seems a friend can become an enemy and an enemy can become a friend.
You are the embodiment of this principle and ever a friend to all, even though at times you may discipline a disciple or speak frankly when there is something or someone at odds with pure devotional principles. You have given me so much by sharing this insight, you are true Vaisnava, and my refuge amidst the turmoil of this modern kali age!
You amaze me by your Vaisnava heritage. It is not by chance you took birth in such a family and were trained in old school Vaisnava values, the likes of which are becoming harder and harder to find. The days of Srila Bhaktisiddhanta Saraswati Thakura Prabhupada are fading into the annals of history, a history accessible only in the written word for most. So it is even more amazing that by the grace of your grandfather Srila Madan Mohan Prabhu the legacy of Srila Prabhupada stands before us glowing, encouraging us to fearlessly surrender our lives to the most merciful Sri Chaitanyadev!
In your relationship to your Gurudev, the great Srila Bhakti Promoda Puri Goswami Maharaja, you are always an exemplary disciple. You set such a high standard of GuruBhakti that it is almost impossible for me to call myself a disciple. Ever engaged in receiving the mercy of your Guru you are a perfectly transparent-via-medium and I simply sit here begging to become a qualified recipient.
Your birth in this world is similarly extraordinary. It is not a coincidence that you are born the day before Balaram-Purnima, because you are a prefect representation of Guru-Tattva.
Similarly you are born during the Jhulan Yatra of Sri Sri Radha-Krishna which signifies your intimate service position to the Divine Couple. These are proofs that speak volumes to me.Lastly, you amaze me by your simple devotion. You don’t even have to try. I am trying so hard but am so weak. If you will pick me up and place me at your feet then I know I will become happy!
Please know that I’m deeply aggrieved by being separated from your personal example, and that I cannot offer you direct service. While patiently suffering this I’m always praying that you please send me high quality sangha so that I can follow your words and the words of our dear Guru-varga with increased enthusiasm and sincerity. I hope you will fulfil my desire.
Now one more year has passed since you accepted me as your servant. I have made immense progress but I know there is much progress yet to make. Life has shifted and I now have to grapple with the challenges of family life, I’m constantly thinking about material considerations, the result of which in simply suffering. I pray that throughout all the phases of my life I can increase my devotional understanding, commitment and sentiments. No matter what happens I know you will always look kindly upon me, and that is my saving grace.
As I make this offering to your lotus feet I pray you’ll be pleased with me.
Your very fallen servant,
Lakshman Das

Leave a Reply

