Power of congregational chanting

Sree Sree Guru Gaurangau Jayatah!

We should bear in mind that in this Kali-yuga, we will not be able to find the strength to perform Harinama alone. This is stated by Sri Caitanya Mahaprabhu as well as His personal associate, Srila Bhaktivinode Thakura:

ekaki amara, nahi paya bala
hari-nama-sankirtane
(from saranagati by Srila Bhaktivinode Thakura)

In this Kali-yuga, we should perform congregational chanting. If we go to chant alone in the mountains, Harinama will be very difficult. You should go on chanting in a congregation, with devotees, uttering the name of Krishna. In the company of bonafide sadhus, you will get the strength to do Harinama. If you do it alone, you will not find the strength. You will find so many devotees in our Maths are always engaged in this congregational chanting because they know this is the only procedure for this Kali-yuga. So with groups of such devotees, you should chant Harinama and your remembrance will continue and continue. If I remain in a secluded place and I have impressions in my mind of lakhs and lakhs of births, I may not remain there. However, if I always keep the company of sadhus who are speaking about Krishna, then I will always be hearing about Krishna and I shall always carry Him within me. Every place I go I will have to speak about Krishna. In this way, I am compelled to think about Krishna and I shall not have time to think about any other topic. Those who are listening are increasing my service. In this way, we can have concentration. This is the process.

Perform congregational chanting with devotees, not with those who are in the business of selling this Harinäma and spiritual discourses: “Give me $1000 and I will give a discourse.” The ultimate target is Bhagavan. Take absolute shelter of Harinama and go on chanting. Krishna is sustaining, He is maintaining. So, you should have firm belief.

— Srila Bhakti Ballabh Tirtha Goswami Maharaj

Leave a Reply

